CTH Home

About CTH




Degree Programs

Lay Institute

Modular Schedule


Ministry Footprint


For Students

Current Schedule

Catalog  PDF

Student Resources




Distance Learning


CTH Blog

Articles & Sermons

Contact Us

Additional Links


Footstool Publications

St. Francis

St. Matthias

Church of the Holy Communion

More parish links are posted on the Ministry Footprint page


Faculty Oath

Nicholas RidleyEach year the resident faculty at CTH are required to take an oath administered by Bishop Grote in a public ceremony that they will not teach anything contrary to the Creeds, the Book of Common Prayer, the Thirty-Nine Articles, and the Holy Scriptures. Then each member must affix his signature in a book as a permanent reminder to all of the solemn promise that has been made.

Regular Faculty

The Rev. Dr. Benjamin Bernier
Adjunct Lecturer in Christian Education and Philosophy
B.A., M.A., University of Puerto Rico; Ph.D., Lancaster University

The Very Rev. Dr. Curtis Crenshaw
Academic Dean, Professor (Dept. Chair) of Holy Scripture
B.A., Crichton College; Th.M., Dallas Theological Seminary;
Th.D., Whitefield Theological Seminary

The Rev. Dr. Charles Erlandson
Professor of Dogmatic Theology
Assistant Rector, Church of the Good Shepherd, Tyler, TX;
Ph.D., Lancaster, England

The Rt. Rev. Royal U. Grote Jr.
Chancellor of CTH
Lecturer in Dogmatic Theology
Bishop Ordinary, Diocese of Mid-America (REC)
Diploma, Reformed Episcopal Seminary; Th.B., International Seminary;
D.Litt, Central School of Religion; D.D., Reformed Episcopal Seminary;
D.D., Cummins Theological Seminary

The Very Rev. Frank Levi
Adjunct Professor of Apologetics and Ethics
B.A., Indiana Wesleyan University; M.A., Wheaton College

The Venerable James T. Payne
Rector of St. Thomas of Canterbury REC, Houston, TX; Archdeacon, Diocese of Mid-America (REC)
A.A., Lon Morris College; B.A., University of Houston;
M.A., St. George's School of Theology; M.Div., Cummins Theological Seminary

The Rt. Rev. Ray R. Sutton, Ph.D.
President of CTH
Bishop Suffragen, Diocese of Mid-America (REC)
Rector of Church of the Holy Communion, Dallas, TX
B.F.A., Th.M., Th.D., Ph.D. (Oxford), D.D.

Visiting Faculty

The Rt. Rev. John Fenwick
Adjunct Professor of Church History
Ph.D., Diocesan Bishop, Northern Diocese, Free Church of England
Retired lecturer in Christian Worship at Trinity College, Bristol, England (1980-88); Former Assistant Secretary of Ecumenical Affairs for the Archbishop of Canterbury (1988-92)

The Rt. Rev. George B. Fincke
Professor of Church History
B.A., Bob Jones University; M.Div, Reformed Episcopal Seminary;
D.D., Cranmer Theological Seminary

The Rt. Rev. Leonard W. Riches
Presiding Bishop, Reformed Episcopal Church
A.B., M.Div., D.D.

The Rev. Dr. Rodney A. Whitacre
Professor of Biblical Studies, Trinity School for Ministry
B.A., Gordon College; M.T.S., Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary;
Ph.D., Cambridge University; D.D. Cranmer Theological House